September 30th:
On Tuesday, September 29th, we had our first official NJHS meeting for the 2020-2021 school year. Since our induction ceremony from last spring has not yet occurred due to Covid-19, we decided to allow new members to run as officers since they would have officially been inducted if the ceremony had taken place as planned in March/April. Students gave heartwarming speeches and it was definitely not easy to vote with so many incredible candidates. We now have all of the officer positions filled and names are listed below. 
September 15th:
I am excited to announce that we are ready to kick-off NJHS this year. Thank you for being patient as we adjusted to new teaching schedules and models during these first few weeks of school.
Attached you'll find the schedule for this year. Due to Covid-19, we will be meeting virtually and have therefore decided to meet biweekly on Tuesdays. Meetings will take place from 4:00-4:30 via Zoom and students will have assigned tasks on the weeks that we don't meet. *Please note officers will have weekly Zoom meetings.
This week we will begin with officer elections. Returning officers Katelyn Craft and Sierra Skinner will serve as co-presidents this year. Students who have already been inducted are invited to run for Vice President, Secretary, Historian, or Treasurer. Those interested in running should download the application and upload their campaign video to FlipGrid by 4:00pm on Thursday, September 17th. (https://flipgrid.com/bower6923)
Information regarding induction will be sent out once we have voted on officers since they play a significant role in the induction ceremony. Mrs. Ogilbee will not be an adviser this year, but I'd love to give her a huge shout-out for creating the NJHS chapter at RMA! She has done so much to establish the group and to strengthen students' leadership skills. Gosia Stoner, an incredible 6th grade ELA teacher will be serving as our new adviser. 

20-21 RMA NJHS Officers:

Presidents: Katelyn Craft & Sierra Skinner
Vice President: Madison Walker
Secretary: Hayden Dolan
Historian: Ava Harlan
Treasurer: Kate Worline

Congratulations to our 19-20 Inductees!

National Junior Honor Society

The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) is one of the nation's premier organizations established to recognize outstanding middle school students. More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character.  The purpose of this chapter shall be to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership, and to encourage the development of character in the students of Rowlett Middle Academy.

Students in the sixth, seventh grades who meet the academic and service requirements may be eligible for membership in the National Junior Honor Society. For more information about the requirements, contact Faculty Adviser(s) Ms. Ashley Bower bowera@rowlettmiddleacademy.org or Gosia Stoner stonerg@rowlettmiddleacademy.org